ClickNewz! Internet Marketing Blog

menu navigation

  1. Brian
    December 1, 2007 • 4:53 pm

    Hi Lynn,

    I’m glad you decided to include a review of BANS.

    The concept is certainly exciting and it seems like a good value at $97.

    I look forward to reading part 2 of the review.

  2. Nell Taliercio
    December 1, 2007 • 6:09 pm

    Oh my heavens, I’m so interested in this now. I’ve got so much in the works though, I don’t know that I could put enough time into this right now.

    I’d do it if there were any niche sites that would go well with my current market of work at home jobs, service based businesses…most of that stuff on ebay isn’t anything I’d promote though.

    I’m going to put this on the “check back on” at the beginning of the year though. Seems like a very interested system.

  3. Joanne
    December 1, 2007 • 10:08 pm

    I have been looking for something that would keep my interest and this certainly seems to be the ticket. Thanks for the step by step breakdown.

    My problem has been knowing a little bit about a lot of things and not a lot about one thing! My childhood ADD still haunts me as an adult.

    My goal is to become focused. Stay focused and FINISH something!

    Joanne

  4. Lynn Terry
    December 1, 2007 • 11:07 pm

    Great goal Joanne! I think we all have to consistently work at that, so dont feel alone ;)

    I think it will be a nice change to work in a totally new niche. I have several niche sites, all which need some work and attention this coming year, so that’s definitely on my goal list for 2008. Should be fun!

  5. Alan
    December 2, 2007 • 4:29 am

    Hi Lynn,

    As a user of the BANS program myself I can honestly say that it is simple to use and a very good starting out point for someone new to the world of internet marketing or online business.

    Thanks,
    Alan

  6. Biki
    December 2, 2007 • 9:18 am

    One of the things that attracted me to this (among others) was how versatile you can be. I have been looking for something new to do and this seems like a great opportunity. I am looking forward to the rest of the review :)

  7. Cara Mirabella
    December 2, 2007 • 10:44 am

    I’m looking forward to the rest of your review. This sounds like a great way to add another stream of income.

  8. Lynn Terry
    December 2, 2007 • 2:12 pm

    Thank you – I am looking forward to publishing it. Actually I am looking forward to the next step with BANS and actually creating my new site. I should have the second part of this review up in the next 48 hours.

  9. BANS Review, Part 2: Installation & Setup
    December 2, 2007 • 9:49 pm

    […] Part One of this BANS Review I ordered and downloaded the product, chose a niche and domain name, and set up […]

  10. BANS Review, Part 3: Developing A BANS Site
    December 3, 2007 • 8:50 pm

    […] is Part 3 in a review on BANS, aka “Build a Niche Store” See Part One | See Part […]

  11. Wes
    December 4, 2007 • 1:15 am

    You got my attention!!

  12. Laurie Neumann
    December 4, 2007 • 3:07 pm

    Lynn,

    I’ve been looking this over. How do you get from the What’s Hot listings to actually deciding what to put on your store? I see level 2,3 4 categories. Do you take one of those categories and go into Ebay and see what’s there? Then choose what you want to offer?

  13. Lynn Terry
    December 4, 2007 • 6:30 pm

    Hi Laurie,

    As I said in the original post, there’s no real science or magic to the decision. I went with a broader niche, you can just as easily go with a more focused niche (like “guitars” instead of “musical instruments”). Its all just totally up to you!

  14. Laurie Neumann
    December 4, 2007 • 6:58 pm

    Lynn,

    Sorry for all the questions:-(

    I guess what I meant to ask is: For example, on the hot items by category list, there are books. The only things listed under books are catalogs and agriculture. Does that mean you should stick with one of those? I saw in one of the custom stores someone selling kids books. Would that not be a good idea?

    Also – do you know what the difference is between level 2, 3 and 4?

    I hope I asked that a little clearer.

    Thanks in advance.

  15. Lynn Terry
    December 4, 2007 • 9:22 pm

    No problem, Laurie ;)

    The levels are category levels. So Level 2 is a sub-category of the main category and Level 3 is a sub-category of Level 2. This helps you choose a micro-niche within a niche if you want to do that.

    There is no limit to what you can decide to create with BANS. You can even combine categories or use search results – its VERY versatile. I was simply using the What’s Hot list as a starting point to get ideas.

  16. Joe
    December 5, 2007 • 1:03 am

    Lynn – you mentioned that you bought the name through GoDaddy.com but then you’re using HostGator for hosting. Recently I tried to do this and HostGator said I had to pay a transfer fee of about $20. So if this is true I wasted the money buying the name at GoDaddy. Can you share if you had to do this?

    Thanks!
    Joe

  17. Lynn Terry
    December 5, 2007 • 1:11 am

    Hi Joe,

    I’m not sure what you’re referring to there… I use HostGator for most of my sites and always register my domain names at GoDaddy. And I dont pay any additional fee’s like that.

    Did you set up hosting at GoDaddy too? Or just register the domain?

    You simply register the domain, then change the nameservers to HostGator’s nameservers…

    You may want to contact HostGator support again and find out what’s what on that. It doesnt sound right, but then I dont know all the details.

  18. Joe
    December 5, 2007 • 1:32 am

    I’m most definitely going to ask them. I specifically said to them I want to keep the name registered with GoDaddy but wanted to have the hosting through HostGator using my existing account. The guy said the only way to do this is if I transfer the name to HG. I was borrowing a laptop when I was chatting with the guy but I think I saved the text chat just in case. I’ll check tomorrow.

    Thanks again for your help :)

  19. Lynn Terry
    December 5, 2007 • 1:37 am

    Maybe the person you talked to was confused. Or maybe there’s something about it I dont know. But its as simple as updating your nameservers at GoDaddy (from within your account > manage domains) to HostGator’s nameservers. Then log in to your HostGator account and click the ADDON DOMAIN icon at the top right…

  20. Joanne
    December 10, 2007 • 11:17 am

    Hi,

    I just purchased BANS through your post for $77.00 and received the receipt on my PayPal email. The question is where do I get it? Will it be sent to download on that email?

    Thanks-I’m just anxious to get started because I have a really great idea to make even more money with it!

  21. Joanne
    December 10, 2007 • 4:20 pm

    HELP! I ordered BANS through your website at the discounted price this morning. How do I get it? I paid through PayPal?

  22. Lynn Terry
    December 10, 2007 • 7:33 pm

    Hi Joanne,

    You could reply to the PayPal email and ask them, or you can contact them through the Support page on their website. Just go to http://www.clicknewz.com/bans.htm and click the Support tab at the top right of the page.

    Best,
    Lynn Terry

  23. Wes
    December 12, 2007 • 9:45 pm

    Lynn…I was having issues understanding the ebay Hotlist Report. I found a ebay resource page which helped. I thought it would helpful to everyone to post the link. I hope that posting this link is ok. http://reviews.ebay.com/Understanding-the-eBay-Hot-List-Hot-Items-by-Category_W0QQugidZ10000000001214729

  24. Lynn Terry
    December 13, 2007 • 7:26 am

    Sure, Wes – thank you ;)

  25. Nell Taliercio
    December 22, 2007 • 2:40 pm

    Lynn,

    Does the BANS give you the ability to add articles, reviews, and other written content or is it simply made for the products of ebay?

  26. Lynn Terry
    December 22, 2007 • 2:45 pm

    It does – thats one of the things I loved about it. Its completely flexibile and customizable. You can add content on the pages that display auction listings, and you can add new content pages outside of that as well.

    Adding new content pages is as simple as it is in WordPress.

  27. Nell Taliercio
    December 22, 2007 • 5:43 pm

    Okay, this thing has me sold. ;)

  28. Laurie Neumann
    December 22, 2007 • 7:15 pm

    Hi,

    First, thank you, Wes for that link. It did help.

    Lynn – if you don’t mind me asking, have you found it to be profitable yet? I realize you havent’ had it that long, just wondering what your general impression of profitability is.

    Also – looking at the hot list, I know around Christmas time there’s going to be a lot more action going on. But do you think, in general, you can go by what the hot list says? I was looking at the link Wes posted.

  29. Lynn Terry
    December 22, 2007 • 7:15 pm

    You’ll love it! If you are an Elite Member, log in to the Private Forum for a special deal ($20 off). If not, just go to http://www.clicknewz.com/bans.htm

  30. Lynn Terry
    December 22, 2007 • 7:19 pm

    Hi Laurie,
    I expect the site to do very well :D
    I will be using my BANS site as a case study throughout the coming year, so watch for detailed updates & statistics.

  31. Karl
    January 23, 2008 • 11:09 pm

    Lynn,

    I’ve had my BANS for about a month set it up with ebay and additional affiliates. I’ve done my due diligence and have over 100 unique visitors about 5,000 hits the problem is I only get a few clicks registered through the commissions website and have only 2 sales through one affiliate which was me. My ebay section has had a lot of action through my hosts statistics but to this day have not gotten any credit of one not even the 10 buys I did through my BANS. The concept is great but something is fishy as I haven’t had any help so far.

  32. Lynn Terry
    January 24, 2008 • 7:27 am

    Hi Karl,

    When you say you havent had any help – do you mean from the BANS team? I assume you’ve posted to the BANS Member Forum?

    It may just be that eBay doesnt allow you to get credit for sales made through your own affiliate link. This is common with affiliate programs – I know Amazon.com enforces this policy.

    At any rate, keep an eye on it. 100 unique visitors isnt really enough to show trends, but it shouldnt take you long with targeted promotions to see if there is truly a problem.

  33. Nell Taliercio
    January 24, 2008 • 9:06 am

    And ebay has a 7 day cookie only. If they make sales after the 7 days you don’t get credit, correct? Maybe that is the problem?

  34. Pedro Maia
    February 3, 2008 • 8:43 pm

    Hi. New to the blog. Just love your writing style. You can be sure you have another reader. =)

  35. Lynn Terry
    February 4, 2008 • 7:53 am

    Thank you, Pedro! Welcome to ClickNewz ;)

  36. Jamie
    February 22, 2008 • 9:02 am

    Hey Lynn-
    I have just finished your review over BANS. LOVE it… Im in! So I am following your review step by step and am at the registering name and hosting part. Few questions.
    -Can I use blogger or WordPress as a host and then have them register my name? It seems that this would be cheaper as they are free hosting sites. I am sure you can do this but would you recommend doing this? I want to make sure I take the right direction and not cut corners.

    -Obviously I am late on recieving the $20 off BANS. Do you know of any coupons out there?

    Thank you for your time and for this wonderful site. You are doing a great job.
    Jamie

  37. Lynn Terry
    February 22, 2008 • 9:12 am

    Hi Jamie,

    Actually you cant install BANS on one of those free blogging servers. You’ll need your own hosting account. I use and recommend HostGator, and I have a coupon code you can use to get your first month “free” (its actually 1c): http://www.clicknewz.com/995/hostgator-coupon-code-first-month-for-a-penny/

    You’ll want to register your domain name at GoDaddy.com (or your registrar of choice), so that combined with using the coupon code will have you up and running for under ten bucks and less than $10/month.

  38. Zal
    February 26, 2008 • 4:17 pm

    Hi Lynn,
    I never had any experience with affiliate programs.
    I understand that in order to apply for CJ or Sharasale.com , I need to have a website.
    So the first step would be to decide what type of products I want to deal with and then to register an appropriate domain name at GoDaddy.
    For example, I do some photography and have my photos posted on 4-5 websites. I’ll need to have a domain name more or less related to photography.
    After I register the name, I can purchase BANS.

    Now I have a question. When should or can I register with eBay and CJ ?
    They both require to have a website, correct ?
    Can BANS create a website without being signed up as affiliate with either CJ or eBay ?

    If I want to create books related site, then I’ll need to register a domain name related to books?
    THANKS!

    any coupons for BANS?

  39. Lynn Terry
    February 27, 2008 • 11:51 am

    I honestly dont recall if CJ.com requires you to have a website in order to sign up as an affiliate with them… you need to go to their site and try to register and find out from there. Then you’ll know what steps you need to take.

    But if you do need a website, you should register a domain name related to the niche you want to target with your BANS. Go through all 3 parts of this review as I go through the niche selection process as well – that should help.

    I do have an advertised discount for Elite Members at my discussion forum. Its a link that will save you $20 on BANS. You can become an Elite Member for only $20, so the cost will be the same in the end – but you’ll access to the Private Forum at my site where you can download tons more products free. If you’re interested you can find out more at http://www.selfstartersweeklytips.com/elite-members.htm

  40. MarxistSeo
    March 25, 2008 • 5:58 pm

    no doubt is worth the 97$. it’s all about getting the right niches and the long tailed kw. good luck to you.

  41. alan
    August 29, 2008 • 7:56 am

    is it possible to put adsense on your bans site?

  42. Lynn Terry
    August 29, 2008 • 8:01 am

    Absolutely! You can put Adsense on the site, or even banners & links to affiliate products, your own content – basically anything you like!

  43. alan
    August 29, 2008 • 8:12 am

    thats good to know, and is it really that easy to use? i already have an ebay store on my site, can i use the same account or will i need to open another EPN account, thanks for your reply

  44. Lynn Terry
    August 29, 2008 • 8:28 am

    You’re welcome :) It really is easy to use – and yes, you can use your same affiliate account with them. The key to success is to use it as a site template and then to customize it and make it unique – with content, other offers, that kind of thing.

  45. alan
    August 29, 2008 • 8:31 am

    thanks for your comments lynn, also fantastic blog by the way :)

  46. Lynn Terry
    August 29, 2008 • 9:00 am

    Thank you! I look forward to seeing you around, and hearing more from you. Definitely keep us posted on your BANS decision. I have a forum too if you need any help along the way.

  47. IMHO
    November 8, 2008 • 10:33 am

    I tried BANS a year ago and did exactly what you did with one exception. I used godaddy as my hosting account. Big Mistake. For some reason MySql has a problem with the BANS. Godaddy claimed it wasn’t their fault but BANS for coding. I went back and forth for a week with both companies trying to straighten the code out. I even gave my passwords for my FTP to a BANS owner so he could play with the coding. But nothing worked. Which is a bummer as I have 12 sites all hosted with GoDaddy.

    BANS gracefully gave me a refund and I have nothing but admiration for their leaps and bounds they went through to help me out. With GD I’m a little unimpressed with their mantra “we cannot assist you with 3rd party coding.”

    Moral of the story until GD can accept BANS coding you will have to host elsewhere. But by all means buy hosting names through GD.

    IMHO

  48. Adriane Grabler
    March 24, 2010 • 8:52 am

    You can not believe how long ive been looking for something like this. Through 6 pages of Yahoo results couldnt find diddly squat. One search on Bing. There was this…. Gotta start using that more often

  49. eBay Affiliate Dude
    April 17, 2010 • 8:55 pm

    Build A Niche Store had made me a good chunk of change over the past few years but unfortunately times has changed, like ebay moving the affiliate program inhouse and now from what I have been hearing, the BANS team will not be releasing anymore updates.

    I have since converted all of my stores over to “My eBay Script” which seemed pretty easy.

    The concept that BANS had galvanized is still worth while for making money for doing pretty much nothing.


Leave A Comment
iPad Theme

Leave A Comment

Cancel