Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Who wants a wp theme ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Jersey USA
    Posts
    336

    Default Who wants a wp theme ?

    Hello all.

    I have created a wordpress theme using a program called Artisteer.
    The problem is it won't work on my older version WP sites.

    I was wondering if anyone wanted to try it on a current version of Wordpress. Of course if you like the theme you can keep it.

    The latest version I tried was 2.21 Kind of worked here, problem with a missing function the_title_attribute.

    The link is http://www.topwebsecrets.com/wpblueonblue.zip

    I don't really use Wordpress too much any more. I am currently learning Drupal. I am considering creating a free themes website and want to include Wordpress Themes.

    Pablo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Jersey USA
    Posts
    336

    Default Tested and Working

    Since I got no bites on my request, I went ahead and set up a new installation of WP. Interestingly enough I have a brand new icon in my Hosting Package(Hostmonster) With a Wordpress Logo.

    The Fantastico icon still allows you to install WP but I used the Wordpress Icon, hoping it would install a more recent version than Fantastico, which is usually a few versions behind current release.

    I don't know what the current version is but version 2.84 was installed. The theme is installed and working at this location if anyone wants to look at it. www.topwebsecrets.com/wptest
    I needed a testbed for the free themes site anyway so people can see what the theme will look like before downloading.

    The only thing I added was the login at the bottom that was missing from the theme. I will try to correct that in future themes if possible.

    This theme took me about 10 minutes to create. Any Feedback is appreciated.

    Pablo

  3. #3

    Default

    Sweatyshop (he-he), you might have a look at Arclite Theme. I think it does what you want.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sweatyshop View Post
    Hmmm, Arclite still doesn't allow me to turn off sidebars on pages.

    I want sidebars on posts only, I want to be able to turn them off on pages.

    - Jeffery
    Oh. I think that's going to have to be a customized theme, or at least it will have to be fiddled with by somebody who knows far more than I do. There are several that will turn the sidebars off entirely, but I think they will all apply that to pages and posts.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default

    PJ how have you found the program to work with can you set up custom theme blogs like sweatyshop requires.

    @sweatyshop the forum function you have on your site is that a plugin you can get

    regards Russell

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default

    @ sweatyshop I looked at your blog after the last post and see you have the information there in regards to the plugin question.

    For your post in regards to putting video on your blog.

    If you want to keep under 5 mins which is a good time for post videos, get the pro version of jing it has a great function where it will record video from your web cam and export it straight to You tube there is no editing ability but if you muck around with for awhile it is a great cheap tool.

    You have the ability to switch from web cam to screen capture, with the ability to save screen shots as png files or host the video files with techsmith and you can either embed it in your html or have it as a link URL

    Regards Russell

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sweatyshop View Post
    Hmmm, Arclite still doesn't allow me to turn off sidebars on pages.

    I want sidebars on posts only, I want to be able to turn them off on pages.

    - Jeffery
    In order to turn off the sidebars in ANY theme, you need remove this line of code from the page.php template:

    <?php get_sidebar(); ?>
    The above code is usually found near the bottom of the page, right above the get footer code.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Jersey USA
    Posts
    336

    Default Thanks

    Jeffery:

    I know I am impatient, I was going by the number of views and no replies. It was up to 25 views, so I figured folks were not intersted.

    Anyway I just looked at your site with the theme loaded. Looks decent.

    Thank You.

    I was going to suggest what Traci said, but she beat me to it.

    I get the impression you want to be selective on which pages have a sidebar and which do not.

    I order to do that you would have to create a different page template(just a copy of the default without the sidebar function call) and choose that on pages where you don't want the sidebar to appear.

    I am not up to speed on widgets, but I think if you turn them on, they override the sidebar function call in page.php. They are like black magic to me, I could not figure them out easily and since I don't really use WP that much I gave up trying.

    If you have some specific requests on a theme, like colors and such, let me know and I will see what I can do. I can use the practice in theme creation.

    Pablo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Jersey USA
    Posts
    336

    Default

    To get the post area bigger, you would have to use some css trickery or override the stylesheet with some inline commands in the page.php file. I am not a css expert but if you are using the theme I made, I can try and put together a page template that would do the trick. How big to you want the page to be ? Do you want it to take up just the room that the sidebar was taking ?

    Not sure if I can do it, but I will give it a try.

    Pablo

    OK Jeffery. I think I have a solution for you. This is based on the BlueonBlue theme.

    In the page.php file make the following changes and I think you will get the desired result.

    Line 2 <div> Add this line to replace the one commented out below.
    Line 3 <?php //include (TEMPLATEPATH . '/sidebar1.php'); ?> <!--div class="art-contentLayout"-->

    I used comments instead of deleting so I can change it back easily.


    Around line 63 if you count blank lines

    <?php //include (TEMPLATEPATH . '/sidebar2.php');?>


    You can just delete the lines I commented, but make sure you add the <div> in line 2 to keep everyting in sync.

    What I did

    Used // to comment out the php code on lines 2 and 63 Gets rid of the sidebars

    Commented out using <!-- and --> the Class that is the main container for the page.

    I will leave it up at www.topwebsecrets.com/wptest until you can take a look at it. Click on the About page to see.

    Hope that is what you were looking for.

    Pablo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Jersey USA
    Posts
    336

    Default

    Jeffery:
    I would think the Home link in the menu bar would handle that, since the current post will always be on the home page.

    I am not sure what you mean by the current post, I guess.

    What link should I be looking at ? The Saltwaterfish site ?

    Pablo

    Ok, I see your dilema, All your menu Tabs are "pages" Do you have one designates as the "blog" page ?

    Like the Home page on my demo site.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •