Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Line break in Wordpress

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY near Rochester
    Posts
    753

    Default

    Linda, so far, your suggestion worked best, sort of. When I tried to use the <&nbsp> What showed in my blog was the &nbsp. When I tried just putting in <br></br> it worked great!

  2. #12

    Default

    Hey - wasn't the <br></br> idea mine (response #2 in this thread)???

    As I've been the self-described "coding idiot" for so long, I just gotta know if I got this one right?

    PS - but I'm going to try out Wade's MS solution - sounds far easier in the long run for folks like me who struggle with html.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY near Rochester
    Posts
    753

    Default

    Jeanette, you are so right! You did. Why I didn't see it before was that I was trying <br /> by itself, which works in straight html, at least some times, so I disregarded it. When I did both open and close, it worked like a charm! Credit goes to you!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    950

    Default

    Also, you can click the html tab in WordPress, put your mouse cursor when you want the link break and just hit enter.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY near Rochester
    Posts
    753

    Default

    I wonder if it is a theme thing, Traci. I always work in the html editor and I have done that. It show in the editor, but not on the page. Perhaps the theme code overrides it somehow.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    950

    Default

    Very well could be Stephen. Without looking at the CSS stylesheet to see, it's hard to say. But quite possibly is a theme issue, but most likely something that could be resolved.

  7. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StephenT View Post
    Linda, so far, your suggestion worked best, sort of. When I tried to use the <&nbsp> What showed in my blog was the &nbsp. When I tried just putting in <br></br> it worked great!
    Don't put the brackets around it... just use

    &nbsp;

    And note the semicolon at the end.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY near Rochester
    Posts
    753

    Default

    Yep, by golly you are right Linda! Now I have two ways of doing this! Wow, from nothing to a plethora! I love it!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •